The Desert Pita & Grill

While I was on International Ave, I checked out another spot and grabbed takeout for later. That spot was The Desert Pita & Grill; seriously, so many Middle Eastern places in the area. They have two other locations (Marlborough and Dover-Erin Woods).

DSC00096

There’s two entrances and tons of seating inside. When I stepped in, there was no else there but that was probably because it was 3:00pm on a Saturday. The service is fast but the only worker there was pretty cold towards me.

DSC00093

DSC00094

The menu consists of platter, pitas, salads and baklava.

DSC00092

Lamb donair ($9.00 regular)
DSC00097I can never say no when I see lamb donairs. The unfortunate part is that they don’t cut the meat freshly from the rotating skewers; they grabbed the meat from a gray tin where it was being kept warm. Nice touch how they press your pita to give it a crunch.

DSC00101

The donair was tasty and held up well given that I didn’t eat it for several hours. A tad on the salty side but other than that, solid.

Baklava ($5.00 box)
DSC00098You can get it by the piece ($1.25) but a couple boxes are lined up along the counter. My box had 5 pieces with two different types of baklava and both were delicious. Homemade, fresh, crunchy and sweet. Give me more.

The Desert Pita & Grill
http://desertpita.com/
1830 – 52 Street SE
Calgary, AB
(403) 204-0620

The Desert Pita & Grill Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

