Jack’s Donair & Grill

I pass by Jack’s Donair & Grill every single day on my commute to work. Every day, I see the same sign beckoning passing vehicles to stop for a pit stop at their restaurant. I finally checked it out one Wednesday afternoon for lunch when plans to meet up with Lambo went astray.

DSC09262

This is the sign I was telling you guys about.

DSC09266

The inside is huge and part of the Truck All Depot building. You can here the receptionist paging people through their speaker system. Very diner like but the specialty here is donairs. I think almost everyone that ate here was ordering the donairs. The clientele is mostly construction/trucker guys so expect that kind of vibe when you come here.

DSC09263

These were the specials for the day. I couldn’t decide between a donair and the corn beef special.

Corn beef sandwich with soup ($9.95)
DSC09265The soup was tomato with tortellini – according to the waiter, it’s homemade. Found the broth a tad over salty and the tortellini’s were mushy. Nothing inspiring about it. The sandwich was much better. Would have been better if they used something better than plain ‘ol white bread but at least it was nicely toasted. Corn beef, mayo, iceberg lettuce and tomato rounded things out.

I’d like to come back to try their donair but we’ll see if that ever actually happens…

Jack’s Donair & Grill
http://jacksdonair.com/
12232 – 156 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 454-9313

Jack's Donair And Grill Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

