Boulangerie Bonjour

Man, sometimes I miss Montreal and all their delicious boulangeries. Seems like there’s one around every corner. Why’s it so hard to find a good baguette in Edmonton? Je ne sais pas, mes amies. Well, I’ve been to Boulangerie Bonjour a couple times now and have to say it’s impressed me. If you’re looking for artisanal French breads, this is the spot in town.

DSC04773

As with most bakeries in town, hours coincide with work hours but don’t fret, they’re open Saturdays! Be prepared for a line as I went once and it was busy.

DSC04772

First trip, I stepped into the bakery around 4pm on a Wednesday afternoon and not surprisingly, their selection of bread was sparse. While I waited my turn, I browsed around and spotted some local vegetables (on sale), jams, and honey for sale. They also carry a variety of cheese from Quebec and Europe. Perfect for the cheese connoisseur. I spotted a couple other baked goodies that looked good. Next time.

Baguette ($3.50)
DSC04776The baguette had that crispy crunch on the outside and pillowy, chewy inside. I cut it into tiny slices, drizzled some olive oil on top and popped it into the oven for a few minutes. Amazing! Might be one of the best baguettes you can get in town. Great mouth feel.

Pain aux raisin ($5.50)
DSC05148DSC05143The pain aux raisin was fantastic. Rustic, delicious, this ain’t your typical raisin bread.

Pain pailasson ($6.95)
DSC05038

DSC05031I don’t think I’ve ever had a pain pailasson before but this translate roughly to doormat. I guess that sort of makes sense if you look at it – it somewhats resembles that. This one was the priciest of all the loafs I bought.

Croissant butter ($2.75)
DSC05040Obviously, you have to try a croissant if you’re going to a French bakery. Flaky, buttery, the croissant tears apart easily with your fingertips. Stop buying croissants at grocery stores and get them here if you care about things like taste, quality and real ingredients.

Raisin brioche ($2.40)
DSC05041I wasn’t expecting much as it just looks like a typical bun but looks can be deceiving.

Cranberry bread ($6.95)
DSC05037DSC05034I’m a sucker for anything with cranberry in it. I’m not sure if they make this every day but grab a loaf if you happen to get lucky like I did. So good! Another shot. Sometimes pictures just speak louder than words.

Sun dried tomato with kalamato olives ($5.95)
DSC04775Last loaf was the sun dried tomato with kalamato olives. You could really taste the freshness of the olives and the tomatoes gave the bread a slight tang. Another loaf I’d get again.

Next time, I’m inquiring about their frozen pizza dough (YUM) – hopefully they still make it. Don’t forget that it’s cash or debit only. All I can say is, ALLEZ!

Boulangerie Bonjour
http://www.yvanchartrand.com/
8608 – 99 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 433-5924

Boulangerie BONJOUR Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

