Bliss Baked Goods

Bliss Baked Goods has been on my radar ever since I spotted their tiny shop while driving through the west end traffic circle. I was all like “didn’t that used to house a Cleats soccer store back in the day” but who buys soccer shoes at stores these days? They’re located between the World Health gym and Gini’s. I looked Bliss up online and was pleasantly surprised to find out that their bakery specialize in Jewish goodies. 100% kosher, dairy free and nut free!

DSC05717

Bliss’s product list is long and includes breads, pastries, fresh foods, custom cakes and catering. I took a look at their fresh food offerings but nothing stood out to me. There was a stir fry and chili in take out containers if you want a quick bite to eat (no place to sit inside though). I grabbed a takeout menu to go.

DSC05732

Like I said, lots of items to choose from but I would stick with their specialties: artisan breads and donuts.

DSC05735

I’ve been trying to make it on a Friday so that I could grab a loaf of challah bread (but apparently it’s also available on Thursdays now!) but their Friday hours are the worst – only open till 2pm. Who the heck can get there by then!?! Apparently loads because they were already out of their famous donuts by the time I dropped by at 12:30pm.

DSC05718

The lady/co-owner told me that they ran out by 10am. Yowzers. Get there early if you want your donut fill. I say “famous” because Avenue Magazine voted their cinnamon and sugar donuts as best in 2013. Here, they had some bagels (six per bundle) and French miche bread.

DSC05719

Couple types of bread that they had available including white, whole wheat, black Russian rye, and marble rye.

Challah bread ($6.50)
DSC05728The only time I ever have challah bread is when my one friend invites me over to Chabbat dinner and I am lucky enough to eat his mom’s challah bread straight from the oven. How did Bliss’s compare? Pretty darn good. Super fresh, fluffy, airy delicious egg bread goodness. This was gone over the weekend. Happy I know a spot that does it justice!

Persian breads ($6.50)
DSC05720There was a couple different toppings to choose from (garlic, onion, all-dressed, zatar or hot peppers with onions). These looked pretty interesting and are also only available on Fridays so I decided to give their zatar version a try. A little more zatar flavouring would have been ideal but this was suprisingly good. Slightly pricey but the bread has a nice chew to it.

Montreal-style bagel ($2.50)
DSC05726Got these for 1/2 price because they were from the freezer. Except the lady forgot to give me my change back so it worked out to be pretty much regular price ($5.00). Oh well. I haven’t been able to find anything even close to St. Viateur’s bagels since I moved back but I’m always on the lookout for Montreal style bagels. These fit the bill, at least by their description. Sadly, that’s where comparisons end. I don’t even know if you can call this a bagel? It’s more like a bun to make a sandwich/burger. Sigh, luckily, I still have a bunch of St. Viateur bagels frozen to satisfy my cravings.

Apple strudel ($4.00)
DSC05723Real apple strudel, according to the lady helping me out. I liked how there were raisins on the inside to give it some sweetness but I wasn’t blown away.

Blueberry turnover ($3.00)
DSC05721Pickings were slim in the pastry options but there were fruit turnovers that caught my eye. Peach and blueberry to chose from, I went with the latter. Again, decent but nothing worth raving about.

Glad I finally was able to try out their challah bread. Definitely grab one if you’re there Thursday or Friday! I’ll be back to try some donuts. Make sure you bring cash or debit as they don’t take credit cards.

Bliss Baked Goods
http://www.blissbakedgoods.ca/
10710 – 142 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 453-0101

Bliss Baked Goods Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

