It’ Dog

I am late to the hot dog game in town. Yes, I’ve known about It’ Dog and The Dog since they’ve opened a few months ago but both haven’t been on my priority list to check out. A few friends have gone previously and their impressions were lukewarm. Well, I’m always in the Whyte Ave area these days and after 4.5 hours of straight tennis, I needed something to eat before I passed out from a lack of carbs consumed.

We decided to check out It’ Dog on a Friday evening (around 9:30pm) and the place was pretty deserted. What I like about them is that they have legit, late night hours (open till midnight everyday). That’s right, one of the few places in the city actually open late.

The menu is pretty straightforward with options of hot dogs, KFC and poutine. Order at the counter and wait for your name/order to be called to pickup your food. The first thing that popped into my mind is that this place is the Korean version of the infamous Japadog.

It’ hot dog ($10.00)
Grilled sausage, bulgogi, tempura shrimp, mushroom, caramelized onion, mozzarella cheese, green onion and sweet wasabi mayo. We figured we should go with their signature dog for the first time. My favourite part was the pretzel bun itself, which was soft and warm. The toppings were okay but I felt everything blended together and didn’t give the dog any distinguishing flavours. The beef dog itself wasn’t anything special. Not bad but in no ways does it justify a $10.00 price point. Not when Dadeo’s po boys are around the corner for the same price…

Sweet and spicy chicken ($13.00)
Five pieces of delicious KFC. These definitely give Wing Chicx and Coco Deep Fried Chicken a run for their money. The chicken came out piping hot (we had to wait a few minutes to let it cool down) and the sweet and spicy sauce was finger lickin’ good (more on the sweet side and sticky). Be prepared to get your fingers coated in sauce but it’s totally worth the effort! The chicken was super crunchy, well seasoned and tender inside. All the things you look for when you have a hankering for some KFC.

Go to It’ Dog for their Korean fried chicken. It’s the perfect place to grab a quick bite and satisfy those late night eats. Even better that you can do it everyday of the week! I’ll be back again when I need my KFC fix.

It’ Dog
https://www.facebook.com/itdogsandchicken
8621 – 109 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 438-4083

Click to add a blog post for It' Dog on Zomato

