Sandwich & Sons

What up son? I’ve heard rumblings about Sandwich & Sons ever since it opened and even though it’s only a five minute drive from my work, I hadn’t been yet. Well, that was rectified when a friend and I decided to check them out for their foie gras Fridays.

The place was slammed when we arrived at noon. Parking is cramped and limited. The line literally curled around the restaurant, I was pretty surprised although I really shouldn’t be, seeing as how Edmontonians completely adore sandwich shops in town (Elm Café, Farrow, Fife n’ Dekel, Jacqueline’s are a few that come to mind).

The menu is concise but I like that. I’ll take a small selection done well over a large one every time. It seems like there are six mainstays and a special Friday (note: they are only open Monday to Friday for lunch!). Seriously, such a genius idea, find a niche and run with it.

Trip #1

Daily soup ($3.00) – the soup of the day when we went was smoked turkey and roasted cauliflower. The soup was creamy and had real pieces of turkey in it. I couldn’t even tell that the base was cauliflower (funny enough, I was talking with some friends about cauliflower and turns out you can use it as pizza crust?!) but the soup was smooth and refreshing.

Montreal smoked meat ($12.00)
We decided to share our sandwiches so that we could try both. My friend was debating between the smoked meat and roasted chicken (cranberry sauce = my crack) but obviously, we ended up with the smoked meat. The rye bread is so picturesque. It went well with the smoked meat but this ain’t no Schwartz’s style of smoked meat. But that’s a given. Not bad for Edmonton standards. The homemade mustard gave a nice zing to it.

Foie Gras Fridays ($17.00)
This was what we came to S&S for. Foie Gras Fridays. Lo and behold, this edition of foie gras was sandwiched between two pieces of fluffy French toast. Yuuum. Not to mention drizzeled, okay more like smothered in maple syrup.

Verdict? For $17.00, it’s definitely overpriced. The sandwich itself is small and packs lots of flavour (read: it’s heavy) but I doubt I would have been full from just the foie gras sandwich itself. Keep that in mind if you want something more substantial.

Trip #2

Daily soup and drink combo ($4.00)
Roasted sweet potato with brisket. The soup was delicious – creamy and a subtle sweetness from the sweet potatoes. It reminded me of butternut squash soup but much lighter in flavour and texture.

Roasted turkey ($11.00)
Turkey, stuffing, cranberry sauce and gravy on a roll. A solid portion of tender, moist dark turkey meat. The sandwich was good but it needed WAY more cranberry. Cranberry sauce is my crack/kryptonite. Sadly, I could barely taste any cranberry sauce in our sandwich.

B.L.T. ($10.00)
Thick cut, double smoked bacon, mayonnaise, lettuce, tomato on sourdough bread. A generous slab of bacon that was crunchy and not too greasy. The sourdough is lightly toasted/warmed up. A classic done right!

Trip #3

Grilled cheese ($7.00)
Cheddar, smoked gouda, monterey jack with an artichoke spread. I was stuffed silly from lunch elsewhere but Pboy hadn’t ate so I tagged along and introduced him to S&S. He went with the grilled cheese and loved it. The cheese oozes out, the panini gives it a nice crunch and the artichoke spread adds a little je ne sais quoi to the mixture.

Anyways, I dig what Sandwich & Sons are doing. The guys making the sandwiches are impressively fast and efficient, friendly and it’s my ‘hood. North side is pretty deserted so a new spot is always welcome in my books.

Sandwich & Sons
https://www.facebook.com/sandwichandsons
13119 – 156 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 222-9579

Click to add a blog post for Sandwich & Sons on Zomato

