Kyoto Japanese Cuisine

So let me start this review out by saying I’ve never been to Kyoto Japanese Cuisine before, although I’ve known about it for far too long. A staple, go to for many Edmontonians and with two locations to boot (their other digs are downtown on Jasper Ave and 109 Street), they’re doing quite well.

I went with a friend on a Sunday for an early dinner (6:00pm) and it was fairly busy. The interior is slick and modern. Didn’t realize they would have private tatami rooms (where you sit on the floor) but that’s a nice option to have if you have a big group or want some privacy. Pretty decent hours if you’re looking to grab some late night sushi (11:00 am to 11:00 pm Fridays and Saturdays).

Squid karaage ($6.50) – no picture but these were quite good. Crunchy, light, and addictive.

2x salmon, tuna, toro and hamachi ($2.30 each)

From top left and going clockwise, we ordered two pieces each of salmon, toro (tuna belly), hamachi (yellowtail) and tuna. The quality is decent but I didn’t get that creamy, melt in your mouth, must order more that I normally get with toro and hamachi. Ordering sashimi is definitely not cheap at Kyoto!

Tsunami ($11.60) and maximite ($10.80)
The tsunami maki (front) had salmon, unagi, tempura shrimp, tobiko, crumbs and mayo while the maximite maki (back) consisted of spicy tuna, green onion, tempura shrimp, avocado, masago and mayo. Both maki rolls were tasty, presented nicely but again, nothing to rave about. They’ll fill you up if that’s what your going for.

If I come back again, I will have to try out their ramen (I wasn’t expecting that on the menu!). Not sure if they have it all the time but it was on their daily special menu. All in all, Kyoto is what I would call a safe, reliable bet to get your sushi fix.

Kyoto Japanese Cuisine
http://www.kyotojapanesecuisine.ca/
8709-109 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 414-6055

Kyoto Japanese Cuisine on Urbanspoon

