The Coup

I’ve never heard of The Coup until my sista brought me here for brunch on a Saturday morning. We were in luck – no line (unheard of for Saturday brunch in Calgary) but we were seated promptly and able to order right away.

They have an outdoor patio with a few chairs for people to sit and people watch but it was still on the cool side, so no one was eating outside just yet. The interior is super slick – open air, modern and gives off a cool, hipster hippie vibe without trying too hard to impress. Me likey.

My sis has been here multiple times so I let her do the ordering. Let the experts do their thaaaang.

2x Bubbles & fresh squeeze ($10.50)
5 oz carafe of fresh squeeze organic orange juice, ½ oz elderflower liquere, peach bitters, and 5 oz prosecco. Essentially, a mimosa to brighten up your morning! Fresh, bubbly, and refreshing. Although on the expensive side, to say the least.

Falafel quesadilla ($15.50) with brown rice tortilla ($1.50)
Falafel, hummus, tahini, sundried tomatoes, sheep feta, cabbage, carrots, pickles, black olives, and banana peppers grilled in a sprouted tortilla and served with tzatziki. My sis and I both shared our dishes. The tortilla had a satisfying crunch to it. Add a bit of tzatziki to the quesadilla and you’re good to go.

El sombrero ($15.00) with brown rice tortilla ($1.50)
2 smoked tofu with seasonal greens, spiced black beans, sundried tomato, red onion, mushroom and avocado grilled on a sprouted tortilla, with sprouts, tomato jam and garlic aioli served with rosemary hashbrowns and choice of soup or salad. We went with the daily soup (they put it on the quesadilla plate), a roasted red pepper, which was light, creamy and healthy. I never use beans when I make my sandwiches, genius! The hashbrowns could have been crispier.

Chocolate torte ($9.00)
Made with a chickpea brownie crust and mousse top served with seasonal preserves. This was really, really good. Coupelicious! I’m not the biggest chocolate dessert fan but the mousse with the sauce (which tasted like a currant compote) was a match made in heaven. We were going to pack half of it for later but ended up eating it all, oops.

The Coup is a cool spot to catch up with friends and/or to bring a date along. The service is friendly, the food is vegetarian (think local, organic, gluten and vegan friendly) and the cozy, relaxed atmosphere makes me actually want to recommend a vegan restaurant for once. Shocker, I know.

The Coup
http://www.thecoup.ca/
924-17 Ave SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 541-1041

The Coup on Urbanspoon

