Hathaway’s Diner

Hm, what to say about Hathaway’s Diner? Co-workers of mine absolutely adore this place and always seem to get take out from them. I’ve tried their takeout but I always prefer going to a restaurant, it’s just so much better. The aroma coming from the kitchen, people watching, being served, the list goes on and on. If you’ve never been to Hathaway’s before, it is tucked away in a random, residential area. Blink and you’ll probably miss it.

A buddy of mine and I decided to check them out on a Thursday for lunch. Arriving a few minutes after noon, the place was bumping with quite the diverse group of eaters. The diner is small but cozy. We had to wait a few minutes for a table but there always seemed to be people coming and going, so the wait wasn’t long.

They had two specials of the day. The BBQ chicken and ribs combo was tempting but $19.99 is a bit steep for lunch. I thought there’d be diner prices! Apparently not. The other lunch special was much more reasonable, with a soup included.

Thursday soup and sandwich special ($10.99)
Turkey barley and the sandwich (choice of white or brown bread) with corned beef, swiss, lettuce and tomato. Note, in this picture, there’s only half the sandwich as we shared. I’m not sure why but the waitress had a slight difficulty understanding that concept, haha. Anyways, I had half and it reminded me of a BLT, but with corned beef instead of bacon. It would have been much better if they melted the cheese instead of having it cold. Ordinary keeps on popping into my mind.

Grilled chicken breast burger ($10.99)
A decent sized chicken breast with special sauce, pickle, red onion, tomato and lettuce. You also get a choice of fries, soup or salad – I went with onion rings but there weren’t a lot of them on my plate. Could have easily ate another handful. The chicken burger and onion rings were decent but nothing you can’t get elsewhere. Simple diner food indeed. I just expect more with a 93% rating on Urbanspoon. I guess north side is pretty limited in their food choices…

If I come back, I’ll have to try out their pies ($5.00 for a slice or $25.00 if you want to bring one home) or come on a Saturday to try their infamous eggs benny (which are only available Saturday). Would I drive out all the way north side though? Probably not. But if you work nearby, this seems like the spot, but beware of their limited hours of 7am-4pm (closed Mondays and Sundays).

Hathaway’s Diner
http://www.hathawaysdiner.com/
13225 – 132 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 488-5989

Hathaway's Diner on Urbanspoon

