Jethro’s Fine Grub

How is this place packed on a Monday??? I clearly don’t understand how things work in Vancouver. That or I’m just jealous of all the good eats that exist here. I think this may have been the first non-Asian restaurant that I tried during my trip. I know, I know, it’s all about variety but it’s tough to do when all the Asian restaurants are soooooooo good.

What do you need to know about Jethro’s? Well, first, their dishes are massive and second, this is a place you want to try if you’re a bruncher. Yeah, I just called you a bruncher. I can do that because I’m not. Haha.

We got lucky and only had to wait a few minutes for a table to open up. While we were there, there were a few parties that had to wait for a table (I repeat, on a Monday!) but not for too long. There were a lot of dishes that sounded delicious but after much hem and hawing, we figured out what we wanted.

Apple cobbler french toast ($12.00)
French toast coated in a cinnamon crunch batter and topped with cinnamon apples and whipped butter (a huge dollop, which was totally unnecessary). Absolutely massive! No wonder people love this place. However, I am a beast and finished the whole thing. French toast was fluffy while the apple cinnamon gave it a sweet and touch of tartness to the dish. Good stuff.

Baked potato ($12.00)
Baked potato combined with hashbrowns, bacon, cheddar, sour cream and scallions. It also comes with a side of fresh fruit and choice of toast (my friend picked dark rye). This picture doesn’t really do the dish justice, once again, the portion was huge and super filling (carb overload).

I’m thinking if I lived in Van, brunch would definitely be on my list more often. Good prices, good portions, good call.

Jethro’s Fine Grub
http://www.jethrosfinegrub.com/
3420 Dunbar Street
Vancouver, BC
(604) 569-3441

Jethro's Fine Grub on Urbanspoon

