Dang Good Restaurant

Some restaurants just have awesome, clever names. Dang Good Restaurant is definitely one of them. I passed by this Vietnamese restaurant a few weeks ago and had made a mental note to check them out. I finally did with a friend on a Wednesday for lunch.

I was surprised by how busy the place was – it must be all the business workers that work in the same plaza. Either way, they have a mixture of clientele, which must be how they justify charging more than other Vietnamese places. There were a couple items that looked interesting (coconut seafood soup and the curry coconut platter, but these are pretty steep for lunch at $13.50 (plus $2.50 extra for NOODLES – whaaaat) and $15.95 respectively). Sorry Dang Good, but I like my Vietnamese food cheap. That’s why Co Do Hue will never be dethroned, at least not while I’m in this ‘hood.

Vietnamese iced coffee ($4.50)

These always look bad ass. Seemed a bit on the pricey side but my friend enjoyed it.

Bun bo hue ($10.95)

Spicy lemongrass beef noodle soup. The BBH was legit! Actually spicy, the broth was flavourful and had depth. As other people have said, they skimp a bit on the meat but the bowl is deceivingly bigger than you’d expect.

The garnishes come in a separate bowl, which was different – a decent mixture of purple cabbage, bean sprouts, basil, lemon wedge and hot pepper.

Dang Good Combo #3 ($15.00) with coconut rice ($1.50 extra)

Comes with a wonton soup, spring rolls and stir fried vegetables with your choice of meat (beef, chicken or prawns). Pretty expensive for a lunch combo, I wouldn’t order it myself but my friend seemed to like it. I had a bite of the coconut rice and it was tasty!

Overall, Dang Good was good. The service is fast, friendly and efficient as they take your orders on iPads. Albeit, the prices are a bit more pricey than what you would normally pay. I guess that’s what you pay extra for – when the place is clean and stuff (aka. who cares about that, haha).

Dang Good Restaurant
http://www.danggood.ca/
13308-118 Avenue
Edmonton, AB
(780) 756-3264

Dang Good Restaurant on Urbanspoon

