High Voltage Food & Coffee Bar

High Voltage. Perhaps a Greek tribute to Zeus and his all mighty wielding powers of lightning rods and thunderbolts? All you really need to know is that you’re missing out if you haven’t tried High Voltage out yet.  I’ve passed by this place so many times, it’s ridiculous that I haven’t been here before. I finally went with my friend who was visiting and checked them out on a late Monday afternoon.

There’s a few parking spots out front but most of the people were taking out their donairs/gyro’s to go. The place is quaint with a clean, aesthetically pleasing feel to it. Glass windows to car watch the time away. Some cute holiday decorations at the front.

All of the staff were super friendly and even wrapped up my friend’s leftover donair before we left.

Greek gyro ($9.50 regular)
Traditional, Greek style gyro. Marinated pork, feta, tomatoes, onions and a garlicky tzatziki sauce. I got mine traditional style (old school, I know). What I really like about High Voltage is that they grill them and have a sexy (yes sexy) mix of Greek spices on the outside. So addictive.

Donair ($9.25 regular)
My friend can’t make a decision to save her life. Luckily, the lady working the front was insanely patiently and helped coax my friend into making a choice. But not really. Apparently you can mix different/multiple sauces (all about customization) so my friend went with a tzatziki and jerk sauce (Caribbean hot) combo.

There’s about 8 different donairs to choose from (greek, east coast, wild west, vindaloo, blue cheese, hangover, 2 alarm and jerk). What, you want more pictures? Of the inside? Here you go, mind reader. Comparing the two, the gyro easily had more meat in it.  Guessing, it must have been about 1.50 times more meat!  Both pitas were delicious and the meat was tender, juicy goodness.

So, to sum up, are you craving gyros or donairs but don’t want the typical, greasy ones? Then hit up High Voltage.  Crispy grilled pitas with a little bit of Greek magic equals satisfied bellies.  Can’t wait to go back again!

*Note – all awesome pictures were taken by my friend. Bless her magical camera.

High Voltage Food & Coffee Bar
10387 – 63 Avenue
Edmonton, AB
(780) 437-3202

High Voltage Food & Coffee Bar on Urbanspoon

