Lee House Korean BBQ

I’ve been waiting for what seems like ages for Lee House’s latest restaurant to open up shop.  Seriously, it’s been in limbo since the spring time.  What took so long?  I guess, as the saying goes, you have to wait for the good things in life.

Anyways, we had a little reunion with one of my buddies from out of town and went to check out Lee House’s latest digs.  The place was pretty packed for a Wednesday evening and is split into two different areas, the left side more compact with smaller tables while the right side is for bigger groups of families and friends.  The restaurant has a very spacious, open air feeling and they clearly put a lot of time and effort into making things look great.  I was hoping that they would focus on Korean BBQ (AYCE – is that too much to ask?), as Edmonton is seriously lacking a good spot.  We shall see, I’m hoping things will change once they finish renovating their original Whyte Ave spot.

While we were waiting for my buddy to arrive, we perused the menu which has quite the variety of options.  We decided to try several of their BBQ options as we wanted to grill our own meat but didn’t even get to.  I’m not sure if you have to specifically ask to grill your own meat but no one mentioned it to us while we ordered, I just assumed they would bring it out to us raw.  As well, I have to mention service was pretty weak, even for an Asian restaurant.  We could barely hear our waitress when she was naming our dishes, had to ask for tea several times, and it was difficult to flag down someone to take our order.  Hopefully it gets better once they settle in.

Banchan and Rice bowls – the banchan were all good, especially the bean sprouts and spinach.  I just wish they brought out more/re-filled them during our meal.

Bibimbap ($10.95)
Steamed rice topped with vegetables (carrots, spinach, zucchini, daikon, bean sprouts) over a lightly fried egg.  They brought out the Korean chili paste in a separate bottle, so you can add as much as you want.  The bibimbap was decent but nothing to write home about.

Jap chae bokeum ($11.95)
Potato noodles with mixed vegetables, black fungus mushroom in a sweet soy mushroom sauce.  This dish was perfectly done!  Noodles had the perfect chew.  I think I just love noodles.  Someone teach me how to make this at home.

Bulgogi ($14.95)
Sliced beef marinated in a sweet soy garlic sesame sauce.

Spicy pork loin bulgogi ($14.95)
Sliced pork loin marinated in a sweet onion, garlic chili paste.  Slightly spicy, full of flavour, this was my favourite bulgogi dish of the night.

Sweet ginger pork bulgogi ($14.95)
Sliced pork loin marinated in a sweet ginger sesame soy.  I didn’t get too much ginger flavour from this one, but it was still quite tasty.

So to sum up, first visit (of which I’m sure will be many) was pretty good.  Lots of interesting items to lure you back.  We’ll have to make sure next time we try out their other BBQ items and do some grilling!  I’m impressed with all the good Korean restaurants in town – make sure to add this one to your list to try.

Lee House Korean BBQ
http://www.leehousefamily.com/
9711 – 107 Avenue
Edmonton, AB
(780) 438-0790

Lee House Korean BBQ on Urbanspoon

