Bella Gelateria Handcrafted Gelato

Award winning, handcrafted gelato? You know I had to check out Bella Gelateria Handcrafted Gelato while I was in town. We were in the area for some Grey Cup festivities (aka. free swag) going on that day so on the way back, we went to check them out. This place reminds me of some of the awesome San Francisco gelato/ice cream shops (Bi-Rite Creamery, Humphry Slocombe Ice Cream, Mitchell’s Ice Cream) – lots of really interesting and unique flavours that you won’t see elsewhere.

It was a cold Friday evening when we dropped in, meaning there was no one there (NO lineup suckaaas). Even better – I was able to sample 5 – 6 different flavours (which is normally limited to 3) before I made my choice.

Some interesting ones were the faloudeh (rose water with rice noodles – yes, actual rice noodles), banana bread (tasted exactly like banana bread) and buko pandan (a Filipino dessert). As people warned me, prices are on the higher end but you’re paying for quality and uniqueness here. Quality over quantity any day in my book.

Salted caramel ($6.75)
I ended up going with one scoop in a cone ($6.75) and picked the salted caramel flavour.  It had a nice balance of salt and sweetness, without being too rich. Yuuuuum, this got devoured pretty easily. Cool spot to get your gelato fix. Be prepared to wait if you go during the summer or when it’s nice out.

Bella Gelateria Handcrafted Gelato
http://bellagelateria.com/
1001 W Cordova Street
Vancouver, BC
(604) 569-1010

Bella Gelateria Handcrafted Gelato on Urbanspoon

