Cô Dô Hue

I’m pretty confident in saying everyone knows about Cô Dô Hue. If you like pho and live/work north side, then Cô Dô needs no introduction. It is hands down one of the best places in Edmonton when you need to satisfy those I-can-never-get-enough-pho-cravings that one gets (or is that just me?)

I’ve been to Cô Dô Hue over a dozen times by now and have no plans of stopping anytime soon. It’s a great spot for lunch as they are lightning fast with service and prices are dirt cheap.

Obviously, I have tried several things on their menu but my last two lunch trips, my buddies and I ordered.

Trip #1

Pork and shrimp vietnamese fresh salad rolls (#2) ($7.50)
Four salad rolls that are fresh and slightly warmed up. Always delicious with the peanut sauce dip.

Hue’s spicy beef noodle soup (aka. bun bo hue) (#34) ($10.95)
My buddy ordered this and “devoured” would be putting it nicely. Just look at how delicious and flavourful this bad boy looks. I’ve had this multiple times as well and it is legitimate. Satisfyingly spicy, flavourful depth and complexity. These come with the thicker, more slippery noodles but you can ask for them to sub for regular pho noodles if you want (yes, I know, not the authentic way according to my Viet buddy but at least they let you).

Shrimp, crab meat and pork lai fan soup (#47) ($10.95)
I try to order something new each time I go to Cô Dô so this time, it was the lai fan soup. Good amount of meat and broth was delicious. Spicy, sweet and depth to their broth that makes you want to lick every last drop.

Trip #2

Spicy crispy chicken wings (#11) ($10.95)
On the recommendation of one Viet friend, who proclaimed these chicken wings to be “crack”. I’m not sure I would go that far but they were good – well seasoned, lightly fried (not greasy) but it was missing something I can’t quite wrap my finger around. Compared to KFC (korean fried chicken) I had recently, these aren’t comparable (but that’s not really a fair comparison).

Special dried rice noodle (#49) ($10.95)
Second time I’ve ordered this dish and it is goooood. Apparently, it’s quite rare to find in the city. How does it work? You have a bowl of delicious noodles along with a variety of different meats (chicken, shrimp, squid, etc.) and vegetables. You also get a side bowl of broth – dip the noodles in the broth and enjoy. YUM.

Ginger beef steamed rice (#57) ($10.95)
My other friend ordered this and he thoroughly enjoyed it. The rice is plain but the ginger beef looked on point and came with a variety of stir fried vegetables.

You can’t go wrong with anything you order at Cô Dô’s.  Great food and great prices = what else could you want (stop being such a greedy bastard). If you’re on the north side, it’s a no brainer!

Cô Dô Hue
http://codohue.ca/
12819-140 Avenue
Edmonton, AB
(780) 475-2660

Cô Dô Hue on Urbanspoon

