The Himalayan

I’ve never had Nepalese food before but I’m always open to try something new! A couple friends and I, well my one friend specifically, wanted to go for dinner at The Himalayan as it is one of her favourite places in Calgary. The place was absolutely packed on a Saturday evening so make sure you make reservations if you’re going on the weekend. Apparently, they’ve done renovations recently – it is a small spot so you may have to squeeze in. We were 5 and fit into a corner spot! The place itself has a nice, friendly vibe to it as all the waiters/waitresses are very friendly.

We decided to share all the dishes, minus my sister who with her gluten intolerance ordered her own separate entrée.

Complimentary papadum – light and crunchy, the papadum came with a side dip of mint yoghurt and mango chutney. We were starving (my sis and I didn’t really eat all day) and ended up pounding back two of these baskets.

Cottage cheese choyla ($7.50) and vegetarian chatamari ($7.50) – cottage cheese is grilled and comes with garlic, ginger, herbs and mustard oil. Served with a side salad and crispy rice flakes and soy beans. The cottage cheese was bland and not worthy of stomach eating space. The flakes/soy beans were the best part of this dish.

The vegetarian chatamari was a traditional Newari rice crepe stuffed with cheese and vegetables and served with a side of mango sauce. Very light, flavourful and enough for all 5 of us to share.

Lamb dal-bhat ($23.00)
This is their traditional platter which consists of lamb, dal (lentils), bhat (saffron rice), saag (spinach in creamy sauce), flat bread and a couple other Nepali side dishes. Forgot to take a picture of the platter! I had a taste of the lamb and dal, both were good. The dal had a nice spiciness to it.

It also includes tea/coffee and dessert at the end. My sis picked the mango rice pudding – I was excited to eat this but I’m not sure if I am a fan of the combination. After trying it, I think I prefer either mango or rice pudding, not both. However, it was presented beautifully.

Tofu chau-chau ($14.00)
Flour noodles with tofu, cabbage, carrots, chickpeas, onion, garlic, ginger and soya sauce. The noodles were nicely done (not greasy) and had a good variety of vegetables.

2x Cottage cheese chilli ($15.00)
Stir fried with onion, pepper, tomato, green chilli, soy sauce and Nepali spices. I’m not sure why we ordered two of the same (left the ordering to someone else) but one is more than enough. The sauce was a bit too sweet for my taste and a little too similar to the eggplant dish. Oh well, it happens when you are limited to vegetarian dishes.

Cottage cheese and peas ($14.00)
Creamy fenugreek leak based sauce, which was delicious. Great for sopping up with the flat bread.

Himalayan eggplant ($14.50)
Stir fried eggplant with onions, tomato, green peppers and Nepali spices. Eggplant is my favourite so I was happy with this dish but as said above, the flavours and spices were a bit too similar with the cottage cheese chili dish.

I’m a bit surprised by the really high Urbanspoon rating – when I see a restaurant at 94%, I expect mind blowing, delicious flavours coming my way.  Maybe it’s because we requested the dishes to be mild (one friend can’t handle spice)?  Maybe we ordered the wrong dishes (meat makes everything better right)?  I dunno, it might be a combination of factors but I left wanting more.  If I were to give it a rating, a 3.5 star is right on the money.

The Himalayan
http://himalayancuisine.ca/
3218 17th Ave SW
Calgary, AB
(403) 984-3384

The Himalayan on Urbanspoon

