Van Loc

For some strange reason, I don’t think I’ve ever had a bánh mì in Edmonton. It’s odd because I love Vietnamese sandwiches! I’ve had some amazing ones in Vietnam along with in San Francisco (Saigon Sandwich). I still dream about that bánh mì in SF, probably one of the best ones I’ve had outside of Vietnam!

Anyways, I needed some kind of fuel to tide me over before one of my soccer practices so I figured I would try my luck in Chinatown. I tried to go to Nhon Hoa but they close at 6pm. Walked a block over and spotted Van Loc, who were open till 7pm so I went in to check it out. The place is clean and very simple, with old grannies manning the front! Van Loc’s prices are very, very reasonable with all their sandwiches in the $4.00-$4.50 range. Can someone say DEAAAAAAL?

Bánh mì gà (#6) ($4.50)
Vietnamese sub with shredded chicken. It came with your usual fillings (carrots, cilantro, cucumber and hot peppers (which is optional). The hot peppers gave it a nice kick to it. It would have been even better if the peppers were spread out evenly throughout the sandwich. The baguette was toasted/warmed for a few minutes which gave it a nice, light crunchy outside but still was soft on the inside.

I wish they added a bit more meat and vegetables to their sandwich but I guess that’s why their prices are so low. Next time, I will have to ask for extra ($0.50 for more vegetables/meat which is reasonable). Good, cheap spot in Chinatown to grab a sandwich and the old ladies are fast, sweet and friendly.

Van Loc
10648 – 98 Street
Edmonton, AB
(780) 413-8887

Van Loc on Urbanspoon

